Know what day it is?

It’s RDJ Day! Happy RDJ Day!

To celebrate RDJ Day, Liz and I went to see Iron Man 2!

It’s opening night here in the States (apparently the rest of the world got him first so as to avoid conflict with the World Cup), but we managed to be first in line for our show. Awesome! (That photo was not actually taken with Iron Man, by the way, we found him schilling for Dr. Pepper at Schnuck’s.)

And the movie was also suitably awesome. Actually, let me rephrase that – THE MOVIE WAS ALSO SUITABLY AWESOME!!!!111!1!!!1!!

There are a lot of plots going on, but they’re all circling around back to the same thing which keeps it from being too confusing. And now that we’ve gotten the backstory out of the way, there’s been enough character development that we’re actually aware that there’s more going on underneath the superhero facade, so, yes, Tony is awesome, Pepper is awesome, Scarlett Johannson’s character is awesome (I’ll admit I was a little worried that she was going to try and move in on Pepper’s territory, but she didn’t), Sam Rockwell is awesome (but when is he not?) and Don Cheadle as Rhodey 2.0 is a very welcome improvement. So, yeah.

AWESOME.

The summer blockbuster tally is off to a good start = 2-0-0

ETA: Know what else? It’s just as good the second time around! \o/

10 thoughts on “Know what day it is?

  1. Yep. I think “awesome” pretty much sums it up. You know what I thought of when I got home?? We didn’t get the “you complete me” line! I’m feeling slightly gypped. (You know what would help that? If we saw it again…oh..wait! We arrrre!) 🙂

    • OMG, you’re right! How did I not notice that? It’s my favorite part of the trailer! D: But you’re right – the only thing that will make me feel better is seeing it again.

  2. Oh my, that photo! *sigh*

    I saw a trailer on the TV but it looked like gwyneth paltrow (sp?)…which slightly disturbed me… please tell me it isn’t so… (granted I was concentrating on RDJ, so I am praying I am mistaken)…

    • Oh, I know, right? Sometimes it’s hard to believe he’s actually real!

      Yep, Gwyneth Paltrow’s in it and I’m kind of on the fence about her (ever since she stole Cate Blanchett’s Oscar), but I like Pepper Potts (the character she plays), so she’s allowed. 😉 But does this mean you haven’t seen the first one? For shame, Claire! For shame. D:

      • I’ve seen it, I’m sure I have. But I mainly remember RDJ. I don’t remember Gwyneth. Guess if she was in it then it wasn’t such a memorable performance from her! Maybe I need to watch the original again before I see the new release!

    • I know, right?! Honestly, I could just stare at him all day long, I think. I know I’ve said it before and I know I’ll say it again, but how on EARTH does Susan Downey ever get anything else done?!

  3. The movie was soooooooo good! You definitely had the right idea – I wish I could’ve seen it two nights in a row! Going in I was slightly worried that there would be a too-many-characters/villains problem (similar to Spider-Man 3), but they all played their parts well and didn’t seem unnecessary…and honestly, even if the rest of the movie had been total crap, it still would’ve been worth it because of RDJ!

    p.s. I know others have already commented on that fabulous picture, but I just have to say…wow. HE IS GORGEOUS. It’s killing me. But in a good way.

    • YAY! I’m so glad you liked it! I agree – it definitely could have stumbled what with adding so many new characters, but it didn’t. But, yeah, at the very least, I could never complain about two hours of RDJ…

      p.s. – I know, right? He’s unreal.

Leave a Reply

