Dammit! Still patriotic…

Yesterday we went to Springfield to see the Lincoln museum.

Why do I look like I'm trying to flirt with him?!

It’s really a very well done and well thought-out museum – the flow of everything is very smooth and really gives you a sense of context about his life. They do approach overuse of fake figures, though they haven’t quite crossed the line. And the little presentations are very good, too – though the Lincoln’s Eyes one is a little heavy-handed…

I don’t know why, but nearly every exhibit made me cry! What’s wrong with me?! I mean, I knew the Civil War in Four Minutes thing would get – gets me every damn time! – but I teared up a little at the presentation about the Lincoln Library, for crying out loud! I don’t know, something about longevity and the mystery of it and connections to the past, blah blah blah. At any rate, it got me.

We also saw your book there, Janis! Claire was very impressed that I knew a real life author (and that you were kind enough to include me in your acknowledgements – you’ll totally be in mine if I ever get published!). 🙂

So if you find yourself in Springfield, I’d recommend stopping by the museum – we didn’t go to Mr. Lincoln’s Neighborhood, but I remember it fairly fondly from many a school trip. Just don’t get too close to Abe – he’s mine!

3 thoughts on “Dammit! Still patriotic…

      • OK, I’ll go w/ my other Civil War crush (Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain). And thank you for reading all those draft chapters of ALforKids. You gave me the courage to finally turn it in to the publisher!

Leave a Reply

