Guest post! Claire makes risotto! And lemon shakeups!

[Man, this is the life! Dinner and drinks made for me!]

[Look at her – taking the time to garnish it so beautifully!]

Anne said she’d never made a proper risotto before, so with it being one of my favourite recipes, I just had to share the risotto love. So tonight I made a roasted tomato risotto with spinach and mozzarella. And it was yummy (well, I thought it was, anyway). [It was VERY yummy! I can’t wait to take leftovers for lunch this week. Silly Claire.] The cherry tomatoes were roasted with garlic and balsamic vinegar which made them super sweet – a nice contrast to the richness of the cheese.

I also made lemon shake-ups earlier in the day, to reminisce about our firework experience. It’s basically a lemon sugar syrup mixed with ice and water – so simple, but, boy, it was tasty! I didn’t quite have the “shake shake shake” of the purchased variety, but that could be perfected with a cocktail shaker or similar piece of equipment. The lemon syrup was even good with an included shot of tequila (almost a margarita). I didn’t take a photo at the time, but maybe tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

