Fiction: Graphic Novels

Scott Pilgrim, Vols. 1-5 by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Your annoying friend strikes again! Scott Pilgrim keeps coming up in recommendations for graphic novels (p.s. – if you have any, feel free to leave me a comment or an e-mail with them!) and when I saw that it was going to be a movie starring Michael Cera and directed by Edgar Wright (of Space, Shaun of the Dead, and Hot Fuzz fame), I couldn’t resist any longer. Not that I was resisting, I just hadn’t gotten around to it yet…

I bought the first one just to see how I liked it. Mistake! They take about an hour to read and then I was left longing to know what happened next for an entire night! I bought and mainlined the remaining five (the final, sixth volume will be released July 20) the next day.

So awesome! Scott Pilgrim, despite actually being kind of a jerk (as Kim Pine points out), is really likable and so are all his friends who are super-cool – the kind of cool where you really would love to hang out with them, but you’re probably not cool enough, but somehow that makes you want to hang out with them even more. And it has a touch of the surreal about it, but everyone in the book just accepts it as the norm which I really like.

If you’re a twenty-something indie slacker who’s in a band and destined to fight your girlfriend’s seven evil exes, this is the book for you! And even if you’re not, it’s still the book for you.

My rating: A

3 thoughts on “Fiction: Graphic Novels

  1. Thanks for the review! I’ll definitely recommend the Scott Pilgrim series for my library. My favorite graphic novels are more on the serious side — Persepolis (1 & 2) by Marjane Satrapi and the amazing Buddha series by the master, Osamu Tezuka.

    • I love the Persepolis books, too – very different tone indeed, though! I don’t know anything about this Buddha series you mentioned – I’ll have to look it up. What’s the name of the first one?

      • It’s just called Buddha, Vol. 1. It’s an 8-volume set. Tezuka is the creator of Astro Boy and was such an innovative and influential artist. Manga was born of his pen.

Leave a Reply

