I’m a Little Monster!

Where was I Thursday night? Oh, that’s right!

IT WAS AWESOME! It is actually impossible for me to verbalize the level of awesome that this was, so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

She is an amazing performer and, I am convinced, a lot more talented than people give her credit for. And I know she’s kind of weird, but I think she thinks of herself as more of a performance artist, that Lady GaGa is some sort of very intricate installation piece of modern art. I mean, at one point, she is eaten by a giant Fame Monster and then is reborn wearing a bikini spouting showers of sparks (I’m still not sure how she walked because there were also sparks coming out of the bikini bottoms too, but somehow she managed it.). The only way that would be even more performance art-y is if she was locked in a perspex box suspended from a bridge!

And she talked to the crowd a lot which I really liked because it sort of hinted at a depth to Lady GaGa that you might not know is there just from watching her music videos or seeing pictures of her outrageous fashions. She also played a song from the new album she’s working on and it was very different from her dance/pop songs so far – very sort of down and dirty southern rock – and she played the hell out of the piano while draped, upside down at one point, across the top of it. Very impressive to say the least.

Like at the Kylie concerts, I did find myself a tad underdressed – sparkly makeup and crazy high heels and feather boas and Lady GaGa-inspired fashions abounded (and a lot of the girls were dressed up, too!). So keep that in mind if you go see her – plan to dress to the nines!

I will leave you with a quote from one of her conversations with the audience:

‘Remember that you’re a superstar and YOU WERE BORN THAT WAY, MOTHERFUCKERS!’

So true, Lady GaGa. So true.

Leave a Reply

