Not a museum!

We are in St. Louis!

Originally our plan was to start at the arch and then move on to the St. Louis City Museum, but from a little outside of Springfield all the way into St. Louis, we hit a pretty big thunderstorm, so we decided to head to the museum first and try to wait out the weather so we could actually see things from the arch.

And, it turns out, I use the word ‘museum’ loosely. The City Museum is basically a combination of a pretty impressive indoor children’s playground, an architectural museum that seemed to be made up of bits that have fallen off of buildings over the years, collections of doorknobs, and random crap that people have unearthed around the city, including but not limited to, keys, pottery, old arcade games, a bug collection, a female mannequin with a demon’s head, and an old peep show…thing.

Turns out what we wanted was the Missouri History Museum which was very educational and taught us all about the 1904 World’s Fair, Charles Lindbergh, and the city itself. Also, being greeted by a violinist was a very nice change from the screaming children of the City Museum.

By the time we were done at the History Museum and had taken a little drive around the park where the World’s Fair was held, the storm had passed and the sun was out so we were off to the arch! To stand in line! Forever!

But finally we had our tickets! Before we rode the tram to the top of the arch, we saw a giant movie about Lewis and Clark which was really good and now I’m going to have to read some more about them – any recommendations, Janis? After your book, of course! Also, can you tell us what happened to Lewis’ dog? He sort of disappeared halfway through the film and we were worried about him!

Tomorrow we’re off to Six Flags – cross your fingers that we don’t overheat (it’s supposed to be 94 degrees tomorrow)!

6 thoughts on “Not a museum!

  1. I told you you wanted the History Museum in Forest Park…..so what was the other exhibit they had there? (the one you have to pay to see) I’m guessing you didn’t see that one?
    Was I right that you didn’t have to pay for the other two? It’s been so long now, I don’t remember….When I say so long, I mean, like, two years. How sad is that?

    • No, I know – I think I just got confused because when we were googling for directions, I couldn’t remember what it was called and when I saw St. Louis City Museum on the list, I assumed it meant it was a museum about the history of the city. But when we got to the right one it was exactly like you said it would be!

      It was really nice – I especially liked the exhibit pn the World’s Fair. The paid exhibit was Treasures from the Vatican (or something like that) but we figured we were more interested in learning about St. Louis so we didn’t go to that exhibit.

      • Yeah–the World’s Fair exhibit is my favorite, too. I love the clothes they have set up! They were so tiny! And the women had to wear so much! I’m also in love with the movie Meet Me in St. Louis, so that probably contributes to my preference for that exhibit. Hope you have a great day at Six Flags–and that it isn’t too crowded so you can get on all the best rides right away!

    • Oh yes, I really enjoyed Undaunted Courage! Also, someone’s supposed to be writing a bio of Clark but I haven’t heard anything about it lately. And I’m happy to report that Seaman survived the journey. I was worried about that when I started my book — I definitely did not want to write about a dog tragedy! He had many adventures, and I’m sure was a great comfort to the men.

      • I’ll have to borrow it from my dad or grandpa, then – especially since the dog survives! We were very worried for him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

