In which I get my yearly allotment of outdoors in less than an hour.

We started off the morning by going berry picking at a local farm. It…was not my favorite thing that we’ve done so far. There was lots and lots of mud – like the kind of mud that you sink into – and lots of lots of bugs.

That is an acceptable bug. Most of the ones we experienced were not. Claire, not being put off by any sort of nature, was a trooper and did most of our collecting.

Claire is triumphant! After about an hour or so we had the above tomato, some raspberries, some blueberries, a handful of parsley, three ears of corn, and a lone blackberry Claire harvested. But we had to keep moving because we had lots of cooking ahead of us.

We went to see The Merry Wives of Windsor as part of the Illinois Shakespeare Festival in Bloomington and decided to bring along the world’s greatest picnic EVER! Claire ended up doing most of the work and my brownies did not turn out which was very disappointing – they’re in the fridge at the moment and we’re going to try to do some salvage attempts tomorrow – but she turned out quite a tasty feast! We had a cheese plate which included brie, Babybels, colby monterey jack, and mozzarella with fruit, crackers, and bread; cucumber, goat cheese, and sprouts sandwiches; hummus, tomato, spring mix salad, and avocado sandwiches; a super-yummy pasta salad; a very tasty fruit salad; and gourmet lemonade with fruit ice cubes. We ate like kings.

Oh, and the play was very good, too, but now I’m ready for bed. The End.

4 thoughts on “In which I get my yearly allotment of outdoors in less than an hour.

  1. Oh Anne – you don’t give yourself enough credit! You did the menu and shopping planning, I simply made what you told me to and followed the directions! You had the most difficult job with the brownies – once you get out a candy thermometer I’m just totally confused so I’m glad it was you, and I’m sure we can fix it tomorrow with a little bit more time (for everyone out there, it was like we were cooking on a Food Network reality show! the pressure of a counting down clock and a designer menu etc etc although we lucked out with non-annoying team mates and a lack of competition).

    p.s. I was pleasantly surprised by the musical number late in the second act of The Merry Wives of Windsor. Surprising yet satisfying.

    • You’re too kind, Claire – we’ll have to see if we can salvage the brownies tomorrow. Keep your fingers crossed!

      p.s. – Me, too – I definitely didn’t see that coming!

  2. Anne how lovely that you went berry picking :)! Your picnic looks BEAUTIFUL I love that you had the checkered blanket and all … I have still yet to track one down. Thanks for the pingback and pleasure to meet you. Have a great weekend!

    • We definitely had the best picnic spread there – thanks for the great recipes! I do love my picnic basket – hopefully now that I have a good picnic menu, I’ll get to use it more often. 🙂

Leave a Reply

