Why, oh, why am I unable to properly cook linguine?!

Soooo, I came home from work today, fully prepared to get back to my treadmilling (Attn: Murderers, now’s your chance.). What did I do instead? I ate a cupcake and took a nap.

And then I woke up, dragged myself into the kitchen, and made a dinner full of heavy cream and undercooked pasta, aka smoked salmon, vodka, and pea pasta (I’m not linking you to it because that kind of backfired last time I didn’t like a recipe…). (Seriously, murderers, I’m not going anywhere fast for long at this rate.)

I’m not entirely convinced that the smoked salmon I used worked as a cooked ingredient – it kind of dried out – but it’s possible that I chose the wrong/low quality kind because, frankly, it smelled a little bit of hot tires which I’m thinking is not the expected/desired result. Really not worth the fish guilt. But it looks pretty, right?

Right. And I’m totally getting back on the treadmill tomorrow (or maybe Wednesday – I was on it yesterday, I swear!)…

4 thoughts on “Why, oh, why am I unable to properly cook linguine?!

      • It’s the smoked salmon. I’m not a fan of it, so I’m sure if you cooked a piece of salmon and flaked it, it would be much better.

        • See, usually I like smoked salmon (occasionally because, you know, of the fish guilt), but I think it being cooked dried it out – probably your suggestion of actually using cooked salmon would work pretty well except that it’s past the line of what I’m willing to do with animal flesh at home. You should try it, though – the peas were really nice with the vodka cream sauce!

Leave a Reply

