I know it’s a couple weeks past Thanksgiving, but bear with me.

And once again, it was my favorite holiday – Thanksgiving! I was fortunate to have a whole day before to be in the kitchen which really paid off workload-wise. My mom and I were able to go to the market on Tuesday night and then I had Wednesday and Thursday to be cooking and baking – usually we go to the market Wednesday night and then try to cram everything into one day of cooking and inevitably we end up eating at about 10:00 instead of 4:00.

This year we ate at 5:15. SO CLOSE!

We had mostly old favorites – hot rolls from the box mix (DON’T YOU JUDGE ME!), deviled eggs (we almost didn’t make this until Thursday because we weren’t sure we had the will power as a family to resist their siren song from the fridge for a whole day), mashed sweet potatoes with chipotle and maple syrup (whose recipe seems to have disappeared from the internet…), green beans with ginger and garlic, roasted garlic mashed potatoes, and cranberry-orange relish – and a couple of newbies – a corn pudding, Brussels sprouts gratin, and a cider basted turkey.

We also made mulled wine – which was really good (and OMG strong despite having only wine and spices in it), but we left the spice bag in too long and it started to have a bitter aftertaste. I was determined to keep drinking it, but had to throw in the towel after three days…

And, of course, there were two new desserts! The first was a three-tier cake from Sky High Cakes, a sweet potato cake with orange filling and chocolate frosting decorated with Oreo and candy turkeys and marzipan pumpkins (both of which were my dad’s assignments):

It was a really good cake – sort of a spice cake, though it still paired well with the chocolate, but we all wished there had been more of the orange filling. The real star of the dinner, though, was the Vanilla-Spiced Caramel and Pear Tart:

Perfect fall flavors and surprisingly light and easy to eat even after a big meal. One tip, though, when reheating leftovers, don’t confuse the caramel sauce with the gravy. πŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “I know it’s a couple weeks past Thanksgiving, but bear with me.

  1. Oh man, Anne, this looks so SO YUMMY! I’m going to have to come and gate-crash Thanksgiving (and it’s marathon preparation) sometime…

    The only thing I’m not so sure about… Brussel Sprout gratin…I’ll take a pass on that πŸ™‚

    And for how many days did you eat leftovers?

    • Haha, you’re welcome to turn up for Thanksgiving any time! πŸ˜‰ The gratin is better than I think you’re giving it credit for – anything is tasty when there’s that much cream and cheese involved!

      It fed three of us for…three days (that’s lunches and dinners) and four for one dinner on one day (Heather came out for leftovers one evening). So it seems like a big outlay of time and money, but in the long run it’s quite a bargain!

  2. I love those turkeys — so cute! Actually, all of the food looks fabulous — I’m always impressed by the feasts you put together for the holidays. I was feeling super lazy this year, so I didn’t make a big meal, but now I kind of wish I had! πŸ™‚ (argh, I swear I will e-mail you soon — I’ve been meaning to, honestly, I just haven’t done it because I’m a bad friend…)

    • Thanks! My dad did a good job with his one task for the holiday. πŸ˜‰ It was a big help having the extra day beforehand – I’ve got most of everything chosen for Xmas, but I have no idea if I’ll be able to pull it together in time (I don’t think I’ll have the extra day of preparation this time…). Keep your fingers crossed!

      p.s. – No worries – I know it’s that super-busy time of year – and what with starting a new job and all, I completely understand! (I’m not always the best at keeping up with correspondence either…)

Leave a Reply

