Guest post! The 1960s called…

[I relinquished control of the kitchen last night to my sous chef and mother, Laurie, so she could make us a lovely cozy dinner while I was still frantically putting together as many dishes as I could ahead of time for tonight’s big dinner.]

Our Xmas Eve Eve dinner was my responsibility this year and I made an Apple-Scented Fondue, after seeing Rachael Ray make it recently.  I prefer to think of this meal as a visit to Switzerland, rather than a visit to my past (actually I never had fondue in the 60’s).  I was amazed at the price of the Gruyere cheese (I don’t usually pay that much for meat!), so when I make it again, I may try to substitute something for that, or do a little price comparing before I just buy the first one that comes to hand.  (For a market in a small town, we have a pretty good cheese case, but you have to pay what they are asking, as there’s no other option.)  The liquid base into which the cheese is melted is white wine and calvados (apple brandy) and that adds a nice tanginess to to the melted cheese. Anyway, it turned out great and we scarfed it down pretty quickly!

For dipping we used toasted pieces of baguette bread, Bosc pears, and crispy apples.  Anne’s dad and I also had sauteed pieces of Polish sausages.  All in all, I thought it was pretty yummy and I’d make it again.  Maybe it will become our Xmas Eve Eve tradition!

Today I’m resuming my position as sous chef to Anne’s head chef, and have practiced saying “Yes, Chef,” “Right away, Chef.”  She has another amazing menu planned for our traditional Xmas Eve dinner.  Our cooking marathons are the highlight of the Rumery family’s Xmas holiday.  To paraphrase Paula Deen,  “Happy Holidays and Season’s Eatings from our house to yers!”

[Wondering what to do with the rest of that calvados? How about a tasty, tasty Applejack rabbit cocktail (also, appropriately enough, from the 60s)? You’ll have to trust me on this one – I made it at Thanksgiving and when I offered my mom one, she looked disgusted. Until she tried mine. I’ve since added bartender to my role in the kitchen here.]

 

3 thoughts on “Guest post! The 1960s called…

  1. Wow guys – I’m always impressed with your cooking adventures for Christmas and Thanksgiving! That fondue sounds great – I watched jamie make a fondue on TV last night – he used apple cider – and that looked fabulous, so with you making one too, I guess I’ll have to give it a try one day! Our Christmas eve dinner was less exciting – I made lasagne.

    Our Christmas menu is currently planned as follows:

    Chicken roulade with cranberry and pistacio stuffing
    Roast potatoes and roast pumpkin
    Peas, carrots, gravy.

    Christmas pud with brandy custard
    Chocolate, honeycomb and banana roll for me and my brother, as we don’t like Christmas pud!

    I got a lot of the prep done yesterday, so hopefully today won’t be too crazy with my mum, also my sous chef.

    Have a great holiday!

    • Ooh, yours sounds very yummy, too! Especially the chocolate, honeycomb, and banana roll dessert! So is it lovely and warm there? It’s snowing here – but it’s picturesque and we don’t have to go out in it, so it’s okay. 😉 But it is nice to actually have a white Christmas – I don’t think we’ve had one for a while…

      Right now we’ve got our wine mulled and we’re finishing things up – just the garlic and rosemary rolls, caprese tarts, and salad to put together still!

      Hope you and your family are having a great holiday, Claire! And I expect to see pictures of your tasty-sounding dinner! 🙂

      • It was a lovely day today – sunny and 35 degrees C. Lots of people on the beach etc. So jealous of your white christmas! Stay warm and drink lots of mulled wine!

        Tomorrow is leftovers and the first day of the Boxing Day Test Match (translation for the US ppl: each year the Australian cricket team plays a 5-day test match that starts on Boxing Day, hence the name, at the MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground) – this year it’s against England, and the series (which is 5 x 5-day test matches, called The Ashes), is just starting to get good after disappointing performances from both Australia and England on different occasions.) So I planned to be glued to the TV for 8 hours tomorrow! 🙂

        Only had photos of the dessert – the dinner got eaten too quickly! 🙂 No matter how many times we told Grandma she had to wait until everyone was seated and was ready to eat, she just kept eating, ignoring us asking her to wait!

        I tried Jamie Oliver roast potatoes, but I definately didn’t use enough butter and oil (he seems to use such an excessive amount so I cut it down dramatically) – they weren’t as crunchy as his, but at least they were still tasty!

        Enjoy day 2 tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

