Okely-dokely, movie review 1 of 5 so far!

Oh, so good. If you haven’t seen this yet, go see it. And if you haven’t seen it because you don’t like Westerns…GO SEE IT!

I haven’t read the book nor have I seen the John Wayne version (though my parents assure me this version is far superior), it’s so good. The girl deserves her Oscar nomination and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that she wins it – despite being in a movie with Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon, and James Brolin (and not getting her name on the poster), she definitely carries the whole thing. I mean, Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon, and James Brolin are all their usual good actor selves, but she’s the glue who holds the film together.

At any rate, it’s a really good movie. Really, really good.

11 thoughts on “Okely-dokely, movie review 1 of 5 so far!

  1. The new movie is almost exactly like the book. Much of the dialogue was taken from the book. The music of the John Wayne version (by Marlboro Man’s Elmer Bernstein) is very dated and seems inappropriate for the tone of the book, so the rest of the movie takes on a similar feel. But the music for the new version fits perfectly. In addition, John Wayne plays a hero, while Jeff Bridges plays an anti-hero. I will actually buy a copy of this movie and alternate it with Kurosawa for repeated viewing.

    • Haha, you read it already?! I thought you were saving it to read on your vacation! Also, does this mean the e-book is winning you over?! Say it isn’t so!

    • Haha, you can’t get much less romantic than that! Let me know how it is – I want to see it because I like James Franco and everybody says it’s really good, but I’m not sure how gruesome it is (I heard people have fainted during The Scene…).

        • Did you get my text about 127 days?

          Not as gross as I anticipated, possibly due to:
          a) me having cut a lot of stuff up at university and so not being grossed out by blood and guts
          b) it being hyped up so much that I was expecting it to much so much worse than it actually was.

          I felt that drinking his pee was more gross than cutting off the arm.

          Very well acted, and a great movie – surprisingly funny in parts, and not ruined by the fact that we all know how the story goes (although most people in the cinema seemed honestly surprised by the fact that the boulder fell on his arm)…. Really liked it and will recommend for those not gross-out inclined, but probably don’t need to see it again…

          • Oh, I did – sorry! I just never had a chance to reply yesterday. ๐Ÿ™‚

            That’s quite high praise – maybe I’ll have to see it after all. I can always hide my eyes at the gruesome parts (I bet you *are* just a bit desensitized to it by now – particularly since we know what we’re seeing isn’t actually real). Thanks for the recommendation! ๐Ÿ™‚

            • no dramas – I’m never sure whether my messages make it overseas sometimes… since my service provider isn’t being very cooperative! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but glad it did come through! ๐Ÿ™‚ made get it on dvd so you can fastfoward the bloody bits!

Leave a Reply

