We all go a little mad sometimes…

…and tonight, I did just that. By eating…side dishes for dinner! Say what?! I know, right? First up was Cajun Potato Salad. I couldn’t really taste the Cajun seasonings, but it was still pretty darn yummy.

And I washed the potato salad down with Baked Onion Rings. I like onion rings, but I hate frying things. Not that I have anything against fried food, it’s just that it always leaves the kitchen smelling of oil and also? I’m not good at it. I can never get my oil to be the right temperature and things always end up being charred on the outside and raw on the inside.

Which I guess is for the best because otherwise I would have no excuse to not be making actual doughnuts all the time. 😉

But back to the onion rings. The recipe uses panko bread crumbs to get an extra crunchy coating on it, but I had a little problem getting a thick coating on my onion rings. There was enough for a crunch after they were done, but there wasn’t as much of it as I’d been hoping for. Maybe my dredging station work is subpar?

Still good – nice crunch against the lovely sweetness of the onion – and not completely terrible for you! I followed all of that with a Coconut-Lime Scone.

The lime in here is really strong – I like it lots! I wish there was more coconut flavor, though. I ended up using cream of coconut instead of coconut milk because that’s all they had at the market here and I don’t think it affected the texture of the scones, though I’m hoping that coconut milk would up the coconut flavor next time. They’re very good, though – not too sweet and very moist. Tasty!

3 thoughts on “We all go a little mad sometimes…

  1. Ok that sounds like an awesome dinner! I want to come and live at your house!

    I’m also a fan of onion rings (I’m just an all round fan of onions, actually), so I will definately need to try these! They look so yummy!

    • Let me know how they turn out if you do – and if you manage to get more coating to stick than I did! Oh, and that’s your mango chili sauce there – the onion rings really were just an excuse so I could have more of that. 😉

Leave a Reply

