Friendship bracelet tutorial!

This morning, Annette, who I met at Pax Lodge when I worked there the second time in 2003, e-mailed me to ask if I could put together instructions on how to make the friendship bracelet I taught everyone to make. Here you go, Annette!

So years and years and years ago, when I was at Girl Scout camp, we learned to make these friendship bracelets. I always liked them because I didn’t have the patience for tying all those little tiny knots over and over again and I could never get those to lie flat anyway. These are sort of woven on your fingers and create a round (as opposed to the flat, knotted ones) bracelet. They go super quick, but look really nice when you’re done.

You can make them with 3, 5, or 7 strings.

Make sure you cut the pieces extra long – your bracelet will be a little less than half the length you cut when you’re done. Then fold them in half and tie a knot.

Then secure them to a surface. I usually use safety pins, but if you have on nice trousers or a skirt or something where safety pinning something to them just isn’t feasible, go ahead and try some duct tape or something. When you get started, it’s likely that your strings will be all knotted up and you’ll have kind of a wonky-looking bit at the beginning of the bracelet; don’t worry about it – once you’re finished with the bracelet, you can always untie that first knot and retie it further down so your bracelet is neat and tidy.

At this point, I tried to take a complex series of photos to demonstrate the actual weaving/knotting technique, but that ended up being far too complicated, so I made a video.

Annette, I hope this got to you in enough time to be useful! Let me know if you have any questions or have any problems viewing the video – I don’t know what YouTube’s restrictions are internationally (I *gasp* used a clip of a White Stripes song, so it may get flagged. *eyeroll* Let me know and I’ll do one without the music.). Have fun!

5 thoughts on “Friendship bracelet tutorial!

  1. Awwww….so great to see and hear you!

    I love :
    1. The cat coming to “help” you
    2. Your very cute hair
    3. Kate and William in your coffee table!

    Shannon

    • 1. Before I started, Josephine (the black cat) was playing very intently with the skeins of floss. Arthur was more interested in what I was making.
      2. Thanks! πŸ™‚
      3. Haha, I know – my mom was reading the most recent Entertainment Weekly which has Charlie Sheen on it while I was doing this and I was like ‘Oh, no, now everyone’s going to think I’m a Royal Watcher!’ πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh man, so awesome! Such a cool video! I love Arthur getting involved and Josephine just watching what’s going on.

    And I totally remember making these – we got slightly obsessed, didn’t we? I remember us all sitting in the rose room making them over and over again.

    • She was all tuckered out from playing with the skeins of floss before I got started. πŸ˜‰

      Haha, I think so – when I first learned to make these, I made soooo many of them, too. I think they’re addictive! And it seems like no matter how long it’s been since I made them, I never forget how – making friendship bracelets must be like learning to ride a bicycle… πŸ™‚

  3. Thank you so much for this tutorial. I learned this technique over 15 years ago and had long forgotten how to do it. Now I can teach my daughter πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

