PAR-TAY!

We just finished up a big project at work – one that’s been stressing us out for MONTHS, now – and we decided to celebrate with a party for everyone who worked on it. Unfortunately, the weather messed up the first date we’d scheduled the party for, so we finally had it last week! I may have gone overboard in making desserts to share with everyone – I ended up with lots and lots and lots of leftovers. What did I make, you ask?

Margarita cookies – I am really not a fan of sables/shortbreads/etc., so these are not for me – I’d made them before after a stressful project and decided to make them again as they’d been well-received then. And, oops, I forgot to take my own advice about doubling the amount of zest and tequila…

Mint brownies – Yum! OMG, yum! Good at room-temperature, but pretty amazing served from the fridge. I only had an 8×8 dish, so each layer of mine was a bit thicker than originally intended. Didn’t affect the taste, though!

Pear and ginger muffins – I had trepidations about this one – it was the only one I couldn’t taste before I brought them to the party, but, pleasant surprise, they were amazing! I like the sharpness of the ginger with the soft sweetness of the pear. I bet it would be good with cinnamon, too, but you know how I feel about cinnamon with fruit. 😉

And last up was Ina’s lemon yoghurt cake – I actually didn’t have two cups of yoghurt like I thought I did, so I used a combination of about 1 cup of ricotta, 1/2 cup of yoghurt, and 1/2 cup mascarpone cheese and it still turned out really yummy! I doubled the recipe and put it in a bundt pan – it rose a bit too much, so I had to slice off the top/bottom to make it a proper bundt cake size, but it meant more for me to eat for breakfast and it was SO good. Because there was so much batter, it took longer to bake and I was worried that the bottom/top would be dry, but I’ve been assured since that that was not the case. Yay!

But like I said, I made way too much food – I basically had the whole cake left over – so I’ve been sharing with Heather and my parents, so I wasn’t left to eat all of it myself. Not that I would have minded, but I don’t think it would have done me any favors figure-wise…

6 thoughts on “PAR-TAY!

    • They’re amazing! I can’t remember now if I upped the amount of peppermint extract – a little goes a long way, but I think I may have put in a smidge more than called for. 🙂

    • Haha, I walk on the wild side! 😉

      Ordinarily I am reluctant to make big substitutions in baking (remember the fiasco with the caramel cake?), but I lucked out this time.

  1. I’ve got a play-date with someone’s dogs on Monday afternoon, and I”m going to make the choc-mint brownies for us humans to eat! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

