Looks fancy, doesn’t it?

I tend to stick with my trusty farfalle, but this past week I’ve gone a bit off the rails in pasta experimentations!First up was (Artichoke) Heart-Stuffed Shells in a Ricotta Sauce:

I usually love Smitten Kitchen’s recipes, though it now occurs to me to wonder whether or not I’ve ever made any of her savory dishes because this…didn’t really impress me as much as her recipes for baked goods usually do. It was an awful lot of work for not a lot of flavor. I salted everything as I went and it was still very bland. I felt like it needed crushed red pepper flakes somewhere along the way or at least some lemon zest to brighten things up. I would add both the next time I make this – except that I also wasn’t crazy about the texture of the filling.

Jillian, you’ve made stuffed shells, right? Do you have a go-to recipe? Does Giada have one you’d recommend?

2 thoughts on “Looks fancy, doesn’t it?

  1. Hi Anne! Those stuffed shells look really good in the photo — it’s too bad they turned out to be bland. 😦 Here’s a recipe I’ve made a few times (and it’s always tasty)…

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/swiss-chard-and-sweet-pea-manicotti-winter-recipe/index.html

    A few modifications:

    -The recipe calls for manicotti, but I think shells are easier to stuff, so I use those instead.
    -I attempted the “fontina fonduta” sauce once and it was a nightmare, so I just make a bechamel sauce instead.
    -If you don’t want to mess with the Swiss chard, you can use frozen spinach instead — it still tastes yummy.
    -I really like garlic, so I always use at least two cloves instead of one.

    I definitely recommend this recipe! It’s sort of time-consuming, but it’s tasty and veggie and worth it. 🙂

    p.s. Awww, this makes me miss our food-and-TV marathons…

    • Ooh, that Giada recipe looks good! I still have half a box of shells left, so I’ll have to try it. Thanks for the rec! 🙂

      p.s. I know – me, too! And nobody over here watches Parks & Rec which is fast becoming the show I look forward to the most (maybe even more than 30 Rock), so I definitely wish you were here for food and TV marathons! Once the weather’s nice again, I’m totally inviting myself over to Ohio for one. 😉

      p.p.s. Well, to be fair, Heather watches it but only because I make her.)

Leave a Reply

