Happy birthday, Mom!

Except her birthday was actually on the 10th. I told her happy birthday then, don’t worry, but we didn’t celebrate with cupcakes until yesterday and I didn’t want to give away the surprise by posting about them until now. I made Grapefruit Cupcakes with Honeyed Italian Meringue Buttercream. It wasn’t until I was halfway through that I realized I was actually making Ina’s Lemon Yoghurt Cake that I made two weeks ago just with the lemon zest and juice replaced with grapefruit zest and juice! Because I’d made that cake, I didn’t have the yoghurt to make this cake. So I used buttermilk instead and it seems to have worked all right.

I can’t taste much grapefruit flavor, though, which is a little disapointing given how lemony the lemon version of this cake is, but it’s still a perfectly acceptable cupcake. The recipe calls for Italian meringue buttercream which I’ve attempted in the past, usually to mixed results. I seem to have overcome my troubles with it this time, though, and got it right off the bat! I even, as you can see, made an attempt at frosting a pretty flower (it’s the technique of the Wilton rose, but I don’t think it looks much like a rose the way I’ve mangled it) – somehow the first one I tried looked the best.

Not as bad as I feared they might be, but I still need practice. When are we going to take that cake decorating course, Mom!

3 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Mom!

    • Haha, thanks! I obviously need lots of practice, but considering I was convinced it’d end with me clutching a bottle of tequila while sobbing in the corner and all smeared in frosting, I was quite pleased with how they turned out. 😉

      • That’s a hilarious mental picture of you for me right now, Anne.

        I’m so glad it worked out, and didn’t result in your breakdown! When you come to visit next time, whenever that ends up being, I’m going to take you to Zumbo’s. http://adrianozumbo.com/ . Maybe we can even do one of his courses! 🙂

Leave a Reply

