TA DA!

Done!

Kind of. I thought the books with brightly colored spines would take up the whole shelf space in my living room. Alas, there are more black, white, off-white, and multi-colored spines than I thought and I’m left with nearly two empty shelves still! I’m thinking I’ll finish them off with black books to make the colorful books pop more, but I haven’t decided what to do with the rest of my books that go on the shelves in my bedroom. If I’m not careful it’ll look really bland and dark in there!

And if you want to see me put these all together, here’s a video! I was thwarted by my technology (I couldn’t get far enough away with my iPhone to video the whole width of the shelves and it cut out while I was doing the blue books and I didn’t realize it until I was done with them. Boo, Richard III!), but it took me long enough to do it that I’m going to make you watch!

Or at least give you the option of watching. Hope you like it!

If you see any out of place books, feel free to give a shout – I mostly just wanted to get them on the shelves and up off the floor, so I did it pretty quickly. I expect I’ll spend the next month or so staring at it while I watch TV and leaping up to adjust a book here and there…

ETA: Is it me or does the back of my pink shirt look like an angry face?!

13 thoughts on “TA DA!

  1. WOW! That looks awesome! I don’t have that kind of patience (and I think my toddler would strongly object if I spent that much time on something that didn’t involve her!) I love your yellow shelves…and the cats crack me!

    • Thanks! I’m happy with how it’s turned out, too – although I’ll be happier when I have the rest of my books back in place! And my dad’s going to make a narrower set of shelves on the opposite wall to hold my DVDs – can’t wait for that either!

      Haha, true – at least the cats don’t care when I don’t pay attention to them. I doubt that would go over well at your household. πŸ˜‰

  2. Awesomeness. AWESOMENESS!

    I just love the cat intrusions, and how at one point you pick arthur up off your DVD player, I imagine saying “oh arthur, you know you’re not supposed to be on there”, and relocate him, and he proceeds to clean himself in front of the camera. HILARIOUS.

    But it looks great, the video was great! I stole your idea and did my own little rainbow bookshelf – but it was tiny tiny tiny in comparison to yours, so good effort!

    p.s. I was surprised you put the pink with the purple, rather than the red. but I like it. I’m going to go and change my shelf now.

    • Yay! I’m glad you like it! I’m pleased with it even though I wish it took up all those shelves. Oh, well, I’ll just have to keep my eyes open for brightly spines books to add to my collection. πŸ˜‰

      Haha, that’s exactly what I said to Arthur!

      I want to see a picture of your shelves all done up – please to be emailing? πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I finished it today with white books and then black books. I’m pretty happy with it, not the least because somehow it freed up quite a few shelves in my bedroom! πŸ™‚

  3. HOLY CRAP…that was SOOOOOO much FUN to watch! Owen came running into the room because he heard the snazzy tune. He thinks you shelve much faster than me! Anne, that was so cool-thanks for sharing! It looks so bookalicious and colorful in your home-LOVE it! Are you on facebook? I would love to share it on there and show off my awesome book friend! What do you think?

    • ok, you’re on facebook because now we’re friends! YOU should totally link this to it, as all the Borders family would love to watch and enjoy it so much! just a thought…

      • Haha, I’m glad Owen liked the song! And that you like the results! I’ve since finished it off with white books and then black books (I keep forgetting to update the picture). Somehow the shelving is more efficient this way as it’s left me with three and a half empty shelves in my bedroom – weird but it means I have space (if not money) to go to the bookstore!

        Haha, I’m *on* FB, but I’m hardly ever there and if people comment or post something to me there, I have an annoying tendency to reply to them via email instead. Just one of my many eccentricities! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

