An entire movie made of backstory…

It was enjoyable – Thor is likable, Natalie Portman is likable, Kat Dennings is her normal sarcastic self, Loki is likable despite being an obvious baddie, Thor’s buddies are likable, and there are more than a few good laughs to be had, but basically the whole movie felt like setup to me.

There are lost of “exciting” battle scenes and big fights, but I felt slightly bored the whole time and I think a lot of it is because we flip back and forth between Thor’s meeting with Jane (Natalie Portman) here on Earth and the drama going on back in Asgard (both before and after his banishment). I spent the whole time going ‘Man, if Ken doesn’t get through this setup soon, this is going to be the world’s longest movie!’ but instead of really getting going once everyone’s motivation and situation had been established, it just stopped.

So go see it in preparation for The Avengers and in case they decide to do another Thor film, but that’s really what it is – establishing his character and his supporting characters for whatever the next movie is going to be.

You know what? It’s my blog and I’m starting my Summer Blockbuster tally now even though it’s still early May.

Summer blockbuster tally: 0-1-0

2 thoughts on “An entire movie made of backstory…

  1. I agree with this. My biggest problem with Thor was the lack of screen time for Natalie Portman’s character. I felt they could’ve done much more with that. Asgard was just beautiful.

    • Yeah, she didn’t get much character development nor did she get to spend much time with Thor (although apparently it was enough time to warrant a big smooch at the end). I agree about Asgard, too – good use of CGI there!

Leave a Reply

