Mother’s Day, take 2!

My grandparents weren’t able to make it for our belated Mother’s Day brunch, so the next weekend, we got together for another celebratory meal. This time things were a bit more casual and we definitely FINALLY put together an easy, tasty, quick meal. My mom and I were very proud of ourselves.

For the main course, my mom made Paprika-Buttermilk Chicken Tenders (Heather and I had Morningstar (faux) Buffalo Wings – Heather because she’s a finicky eater and me because I’m a veggie) and to go along with them, we had Buttermilk Biscuits and Tangy Goat Cheese and Dill Potato Salad.

The biscuits were good, but mine didn’t rise nearly as much as they did in the picture. I thought the potato salad was delicious, but my mom (who inexplicably doesn’t like goat cheese) wasn’t completely sold. It may have something to do with the possibility that I added twice as much goat cheese as the recipe called for. But I liked it.

For dessert, we had Ina’s Black and White Angel Food Cake.

Angel food cake is surprisingly easy to make, but with the chocolate, it was just too sweet for me – I prefer mine with just whipped cream and maybe some fresh fruit. But everyone else seemed pleased with it!

Leave a Reply

