Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your eyes!

Or your knowledge about eyes, if that’s easier. So, I have an astigmatism. There. I said it. I’d say it again if I had to. 😉

I sort of hate my soft contacts – they shift around every time I blink and my apparently extra proteiny eyes make them all cloudy which only barely outweighs the benefits of wearing them. And, frankly, sometimes doesn’t.

Gas permeable contacts were starting to sound pretty good, but I know a lot of people don’t like them (Jillian, I’m looking at you!) because they’re not as comfortable and…other reasons I can’t think of at the moment. And then? I stumbled across Synergeyes and they sound amazing!

Hybrid contact lenses?! The benefits of gas permeables (less shifting around, less likely to have proteins stick to them) with the comfort of soft contacts?! How can I go wrong?

But there’s probably a way that I could, so I wanted to pick the brains of all of my contact-wearing friends, especially if you have an astigmatism. Do you wear soft lenses? Hard lenses? What do you like about them? What don’t you like about them?

4 thoughts on “Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your eyes!

  1. I’ve been wearing soft contacts (two-week disposables, I take them out every night) for 13 years. I love them. Acuvue 2 is the way to go for soft contacts. I tried the newer Acuvues — the ones that are silicon — and my eyes did not like them at all.

    • Yeah, right after I got my year’s supply of soft contacts (Biofinity, I think? I’m not sure and am too lazy to get up and go check), I started seeing ads for a new Acuvue for astigmatism lens that was supposed to have special contact lens technology (or whatever) that meant the lenses realigned themselves every time you blinked. I’ll probably ask about those, too, but I am fascinated by these hybrid contact lenses because gas permeables sound really tempting and these sound like the best of both worlds. Fingers crossed!

  2. I have an astigmatism, too — when I first got contacts, I chose the gas permeables because my eye doctor strongly recommended them over soft lenses (partly because of my astigmatism, and partly because he just thought they were better quality, longer lasting, etc.). I wore them for about a year and then switched to soft contacts because the gas permeables were just too uncomfortable. I actually looked forward to taking them out every night because it felt like such a relief. But that was just my own experience — I know other people who wear them happily. My soft lenses are Biofinity; I really like them and I don’t have any problems with them shifting around when I blink, but I also have extra-proteiny eyes, so I can definitely relate to that. If you end up trying the hybrid lenses, let me know what you think!

    • Oddly enough my doctor never even brought up gas permeables – I guess I assumed that it had something to do with the strength of my prescription, but now I don’t think that had anything to do with it. You’re so lucky they don’t shift around on you! Both of mine fall between degrees or whatever (the left more so than the right), so they shift like there’s no tomorrow – sometimes I have to prod them around with my finger to get them to resettle (and I know that’s something that’s particular to brands – I tried a daily soft contact before I chose the monthlies that I have and they had an option that fell closer to my actual astigmatism – I could see better and they were more comfortable, but also more expensive).

      So far the hybrids are still the ones I’m most interested in, but, failing those, I’m definitely at least giving the gas permeables a try. I’m glad the Biofinity ones work well for you, though! And I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one with extra-proteiny eyes. 😉

      p.s. – My mom wore contacts before they were gas permeables and it sounds like we don’t know how lucky we are these days!

Leave a Reply

