Who knew you’d need tissues at a movie that’s basically about Rock ’em, Sock ’em Robots?!

Awesome movie, but first? We have to talk about War Horse. If you’ve somehow managed to make it this far without seeing the trailer for it, here it is. MOM, DO NOT WATCH IT. This movie is not for you – just keep scrolling.

Goddammit, I cried just trying to make sure I had the right trailer to link here!

Every time I see that first shot of the horse running across No-Man’s Land, I think “OH, GOD, IT’S WAR HORSE!” and the tears begin. I do not want to see this movie – I really don’t want to see this movie – but I have a horrible feeling I’m going to end up seeing it. My plan is to go to a super-early show so that the odds are good that I’ll be the only one in the cinema and won’t disturb anyone with my hysterical sobbing. And then I’ll be set for crying for probably the next year or so. But before I go, I’ll need to get all the tissues there are. And I mean that a la Ron Swanson.

So back to the movie at hand.

WHICH IS THE MOST AWESOME MOVIE EVER! I will admit that I was not sold when the trailer for this first came out (a million years ago – did its release date get pushed back or something?), but they wore me down and I was looking forward to it. But never in a million years did I expect it to actually be a really good movie.

It has action, it has drama, it has heart, it has the always lovely Hugh Jackman, it has an adorable kid, it has an even more adorable robot. What more do you need?! Heather and I both teared up more than once – I can’t speak for her, but it’s the whole underdog, father/son relationship thing they’ve got going here that got me. And the robot fight scenes are really exciting, too – in the last fight, I really had to work hard to not cheer out loud for Atom (though the only other people in the cinema actually did, so they probably wouldn’t have minded).

Also, if robot boxing were actually a thing, I would so be all over that. And actually, the same goes for Hugh Jackman. 😉

Leave a Reply

