Q: What’s better than a chocolate cake?

A: A chocolate cake decorated with a chocolate cake!

Remember this failure? I went back to my parents’ to regain my dignity (now that their oven is fixed) and succeeded!

The cake is yum-my! Lovely and moist and fluffy! And it’s easy, too – you don’t even need a mixer to make it. You do need a mixer to make the bizarre frosting (Mix it all together, put it in the freezer, whip it until it’s light and airy? What?!) – and be careful, it nearly did in my mom’s 24-year-old KitchenAid.

Yum! And we also made gingerbread cookies with a lemon glaze and my mom’s magical sugar cookies to take to some friends’ holiday party Saturday night.

They seemed to go over well at the party – I didn’t make it home with very many left over (and what I did end up with, I finished off on Sunday all by myself).

Leave a Reply

