So I mentioned…

…that it was my dad’s birthday last week. We headed over to celebrate with my parents and grandparents on Friday and it was my job to make the cake. Surprise, surprise, right? I went with a Spiced Carrot Cake With Orange Cream Cheese Frosting. Holy cats, this is a good cake!

And I don’t even like carrot cake that much, but something about this recipe just kept calling my name until I finally caved and gave it a try. It did not disappoint – it’s moist, sweet (but not too sweet) and the orange frosting is the perfect complement (it has twice as much grated ginger as it does orange zest, but I could only taste the orange – my theory is that the ginger cuts the sweetness of the powdered sugar a bit). And it’s got carrots, so it’s good for you, right?! Alas, I’m still getting into the swing of blogging again and forgot to take a picture of the whole cake at the time, so I just have this sort of sad photo of the leftovers that Drew and I had this evening. Don’t let it put you off – this cake is super!

2 thoughts on “So I mentioned…

Leave a Reply

