Yummy salmon and broken hearts…

My addiction, Buzzfeed, posted yet another fantastic list of one-pan dinners. The first of many that I decided to try was the Pan Roasted Salmon-and-Bread Salad and it was super tasty! And super easy and relatively quick. We used frozen salmon fillets that had their skin on, so Drew took one for the team and took the skin off and chopped the salmon up for me (I can eat fish and cook with it, but I can’t touch it – learned that the hard way!). Everything else came together in no time and by the time I was out of the shower, it was time to eat.

I have a sneaking suspicion that it won’t be as nice tomorrow as leftovers, but it was soooo good this evening!

In the spirit of all things Valentine’s Day, I wanted to try Smitten Kitchen’s White- and Dark-Hearted Brownies. The brownies and blondies turned out very well, but my little set of heart cookie cutters were every just so slightly the wrong size – the middle one was a smidge too big and the small one was so small that you couldn’t really tell it was a heart:

I only switched centers on those two that I took pictures of (I’d cut out the middle of all the brownies, but once I saw how they were going to turn out, I just gave up on the blondies and put the centers back in the brownies. As far as flavor goes, they’re both really good – I think I prefer the blondies (but that may be because I totally overdosed on chocolate at dinner on Saturday).

Leave a Reply

