Eating our way through the pantry!

Drew and I are trying to use up stuff that we have had in the pantry for ages in an attempt to get it cleared out to make room for new food. This past week, we were using up a box of whole wheat penne that’s been in there since I don’t remember when! First we had Garlic Baked Shrimp Penne which was pretty tasty, though I think it would have been better if I hadn’t forgotten to buy the evaporated milk the recipe called for, forcing me to substitute reconstituted powdered milk. It was still edible, but the substitution gave it a weird kind of aftertaste. I’d definitely make this again but with actual evaporated milk this time!

To use up the rest of the box of whole wheat penne, we had Whole Wheat Pasta with Salmon, Tomatoes, and Herb Dressing. I thought this one was very nice, but, even though he ate it, I think it was a little heavy on the tomatoes for Drew. He did eat the leftovers, so it can’t have been that much of a hardship!

 

Leave a Reply

