Next up…rice!

There’s still some couscous left and I’m planning to finish it off tomorrow, but today I took a detour to what was supposed to be a quick and easy dinner of Baked Eggs in Whole Roasted Tomatoes with Lemon Pilaf. Unfortunately, my tomatoes sort of collapsed so that cracking an egg into each one was just not feasible – I poached eggs for us instead, racing the clock to tap class!

The lemon pilaf would have been really good except that I mixed 2/3 cup of white rice with 1/3 cup of brown rice to get 1 cup of rice (I halved the recipe from 4 servings to 2 and still ended up with loads of rice left over) and I think the brown rice needed more time to cook. It was edible, but a little on the crunchy side.

So all in all, the flavors were really good and blended very well, but my execution was a bit off…

Leave a Reply

