Ran a 5K with my mom…what, that’s totally my mom!

Mom and I were supposed to run in the Race the Roof 5K to support Habitat for Humanity this morning, but she called about 45 minutes before the race and said that Dad had come down with a stomach bug and she needed to stay home and look after him. I asked Drew if he felt like running a 5K with me, but he wasn’t sure his knee would put up with that kind of activity. So I texted Jillian to see if she wanted to run a 5K with me – and, more importantly, promised there would be pancakes afterwards if she did.

It worked!

I wasn’t sure if it would be a problem that a different person was going to take my mom’s spot in the run and at first I was just going to have Jillian pretend to be Laurie but I quickly realized that there was no way they were going to believe that Jillian was my 60-year-old mother… It ended up being no big deal – I explained what had happened when we checked in and they said “Oh, no problem!”

Jillian is a seasoned distance runner – she ran the Columbus marathon! – and a 5K is just a warm-up run for her, but she was a good sport and went super slow to keep me company (our height difference meant that even when I took little breaks to walk, she still had to jog a little to keep up with me). We finished around 37:30 which is not very far off my goal of a 12-minute mile (even though I didn’t manage to jog the whole thing – boo!), so I felt pretty good about it!

Next 5K is in just under two weeks which means I’ll have four opportunities to actually jog an entire 5K in the run up to it (no pun intended). Fingers crossed this will be the one!

2 thoughts on “Ran a 5K with my mom…what, that’s totally my mom!

  1. It was really fun, and I’m glad I did it (and not just because of the pancakes, although they were an excellent reward)! I *know* you can jog an entire 5K–I have faith in you!🙂

    • I hope so! I’ll get there…eventually. Thank you again for joining me – it’s much more fun with company! And you’re welcome to join me (and my mom) on any of the other runs we’re doing this summer.🙂

Leave a Reply

