Birthday time!

Drew’s birthday was on Sunday and he wanted to have a party to celebrate, so we invited friends over and got busy in the kitchen! Drew put together a tasty, tasty taco bar with fillings for three different tacos (pulled pork, shrimp, and tofu with greens), three different salsas (a mild roasted tomatillo salsa, a medium roasted tomato salsa, and a skull-and-cross-bones mango habanero salsa), and lots of toppings (queso fresco, lime wedges, red onions soaked in sour orange juice).

And I forgot to take pictures.

I’m so bummed that I did that because the kitchen looked gorgeous and the tacos were a big hit! We had some leftovers (though not as much as I originally thought we did), so I can also attest to the fact that the shrimp filling is very good over greens and Drew has been eating the pulled pork over greens with a balsamic-mango-habanero dressing.

The cake was my job and since red velvet cake is Drew’s favorite, I made this Lincoln’s Red Velvet (Cheesecake) Cake which was also a big hit! I have a picture of the outside of it, but forgot to snap a pic once I sliced into it, but it turned out very well, if I do say so myself.

You’d think a cake with a layer of cheesecake in it would be super rich, but it really wasn’t – the cheesecake was surprisingly light and the red velvet is less sweet (and far less chocolatey) than I was expecting it to be. Even the cream cheese frosting wasn’t overwhelming!

Drew managed to get rid of most of the leftover cake the next day at school, but I’m still picking away at the remaining cake tops that I had after leveling the cakes. Yum!

Leave a Reply

