A mini food party!

To celebrate the season finales of Parks and Rec and Happy Endings, Jillian and I decided to have a mini food party! She brought her specialty, the famous Cheesy Bread, which is OMG, so good! I always eat way too much of it, but it’s just so tasty. Her three tips are to add a little extra garlic, change the cheese ratio from 2 parts cheddar and 1 part mozzarella to 2 parts mozzarella (since it melts better than cheddar) and 1 part cheddar, and bake it first to get the cheese melty and then broil it to get some lovely bubbly, brown parts on top.

I was very intrigued by these Strawberry Thyme Olive Oil Cupcakes with Balsamic Frosting. They’re…interesting. And I really mean that – I can’t decide whether or not I like them (I’m not entirely convinced by the thyme and might try it with some different herbs next time and I think the balsamic frosting needs a little more sugar even though I added an extra cup already) – but I certainly can’t seem to stop eating them!

I also made these Brown Butter Strawberry Streusel Bars which are oh, so good! I halved the recipe which seems to have worked out just fine apart from having a little too much of the topping left – next time, if I halve the recipe, I don’t think I’ll put quite so much on top, or at least I’ll clump it together a big more before I do. Still, they were a hit – the filling is perfect!

Then, if you can see a theme, I made us this Strawberry-Jalapeno Martini. The jalapenos just float in the martini and I was thinking that next time I might try infusing the strawberry simple syrup with some jalapeno slices next time, but the longer the drink sat, the spicier it got! Well, spicy isn’t really the right word, but there’s definitely some heat there and you can feel it! Very tasty.

And finally we had this Strawberry Gin Smash Cocktail which was very tasty, but very strong! I measured everything, but maybe the shot glass I used was too big (though I used the same one to measure out the martinis and those were of the correct strength). So, yes, very tasty, but pour lightly!

2 thoughts on “A mini food party!

  1. I feel sort of lame for always bringing cheesy bread while you whip up cool new desserts every time! I’ll have to make cheesy bread plus something else for the next TV party.🙂

    • Not at all! For one thing, you’re busy with school and end-of-semester things while I have copious amounts of free time! And for another, I think there would be a revolt if you *didn’t* bring cheesy bread! So, really, it’s for your own safety that you bring cheesy bread.😉

Leave a Reply

