I CAN FUCKING DO THIS!

Oh, dear, it’s been so long… Is anybody still out there? Well, it has been absolute aaaaaages since I last posted anything on my blog. It’s been a bit of a rough year, though I think things are on the way back up again. At least, that’s what I’m determined to make happen! So let me do my best to catch you up:

  1. Drew got a job teaching saxophone in Wisconsin.
  2. I got a temporary-potentially-permanent job at the same place as their music librarian.
  3. We moved and started our jobs in the span of about two days which was super-duper stressful.
  4. My condo didn’t sell. And didn’t sell. And still didn’t sell.
  5. I got depressed.
  6. I was really missing my friends and family.
  7. I got more depressed.
  8. The winter here SUCKED. Like, seriously sucked.
  9. My depression got the better of me.

A photo posted by @anne.rumery on

But then:

  1. Spring finally came!
  2. I switched to a new antidepressant that, along with my vitamin D, has made a huge difference!
  3. My condo sold!
  4. We made it through the summer even though money was tight!
  5. I got the permanent version of my job!
  6. I’m still missing my friends and family and I can’t really say that the depression is gone – some days are better than others – but I’m taking it day by day and things are getting better.
  7. I managed to rekindle my passion for reading – I didn’t realize just how much I missed it!
  8. I’ve made a plan to pay off my credit card debt and start saving money!
  9. I’m working to get rid of these extra 40 pounds that showed up – it’s hard dealing with a completely different 30-some-odd-year-old metabolism stacked on depression stacked on a winter that was made for carbs and warm blankets – and I’m going to do my darnedest to eat better and get back into shape (such as it was)!

A photo posted by @anne.rumery on

So, yeah, I have things that I’m excited about and that I look forward to every day – reading, practicing my French and Spanish, practicing the upright bass and the bass recorder – that keep me going, along with support from Drew and my family and new and old friends.

I think you can guess my new mantra – say it with me:

Mantra

8 thoughts on “I CAN FUCKING DO THIS!

  1. I’m still here! What are you reading? I’m in the process of re-reading Guns of August (in honor of the 100th anniversary) and Good Omens.

    • Right now I’m slogging my way through the second Game of Thrones book (Clash of Kings, I think? Something alliterative, anyway.). It’s really boring, but I’m determined, so when I get to page 300, I’m going to take a break and read Still Life by Louise Penny which is the first book in the Inspector Gamache mystery series. I read the 8th or 9th one in the series while I was in Colorado, so now I need to go back and start at the beginning!

  2. Welcome back, Anne! I’ve missed reading your blog! You can totally do this. (Just think of Liz Lemon eating a sandwich and yelling “I can do it! I can have it all!”🙂

    • “I scarfed my teamster sub for you!” I’ve missed writing my blog, so I hope I can get back into the swing of things – so far it feels good to be back🙂

Leave a Reply

