Lovely fall food!

On Sunday, Drew and I invited the students in his saxophone studio over to watch the Packers game as a welcome back for the new school year. Drew made two different kinds of chili – one was chipotle and chicken and one was a vegetarian chili verde. I didn’t actually try the chipotle and chicken version, but it smelled amazing; the veggie chili was soooooo tasty – and I think most of the students stayed away which is fine – more for me! My contributions were the cornbread (my go-to cornbread – I prefer a sweet cornbread, more like cake than anything),

Different pic of cornbread

A photo posted by @anne.rumery on

and two desserts. The first was brownies with caramel, pecans, and pretzels – they were super yummy, if a little bit too much for me.

Tailgating brownies with pretzels, pecans, and caramel

A photo posted by @anne.rumery on

The second was an apple streusel bar with homemade salted caramel sauce. The sauce is a-MAH-zing. I’ve always been a bit scared of homemade caramel – I’ve done it, but I’m not super consistent – but this recipe was so easy and turned out so well, sweet and salty and caramel-y and perfect. By far my favorite dessert of the two. Yum!

Homemade salted caramel for apple streusel bars

A photo posted by @anne.rumery on

Not very good for my diet, but good for my tastebuds!

Leave a Reply

