New TV: Things I Watched Tonight (9/29)

Since Drew and I have cut the cable cord, we’re watching all of our television whenever it ends up showing up on Hulu+ which means that what night I watch shows won’t correspond to the nights they actually air. What this means for you is that instead of organizing my New TV posts by what night the shows air, I’ll just be posting them at random, as I end up watching them. I’ll be sure to put what night and time they actually air, so that anyone with regular cable can find them.

MV5BMTQ2NTI0MzAyNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjQyMDA4MjE@._V1_SY317_CR1,0,214,317_AL_

A to Z (NBC, Thursdays, 9:30/8:30c)

This is clearly supposed to be the new How I Met Your Mother – and I’m not just saying that because the Mother (Cristin Milioti) is in it. Basically, Andrew and Zelda will date for 8 months, 3 weeks, 1 day, and 5 hours (or something like that) and this is the complete record of their relationship. The catch is that we don’t know whether at the end of that time they’ll break up or if they’ll get married. The pilot was called Acquaintances, so I can only assume that they’ll be working through the alphabet, though that will limit them somewhat in twenty-six episodes. It sounds like I’m being kind of snarky about this show, but I actually really liked it. Everyone is likable, I’m obsessed with Cristin Milioti’s canines (they’re so pointy!), it’s got the girl who played Annie in the original Being Human, Rashida Jones is a producer, it’s narrated by Katey Sagal (whom I mistook for Alison Janney)…what’s not to like?! It’s not often a pilot is so engrossing, so I hope they keep up the good work!

Brooklyn Nine Nine (Fox, Sundays, 8:30/7:30c)

It’s back! I’m super excited – if it weren’t for Parks and Recreation, this would be my favorite show on TV, hands down! WATCH IT!

The Big Bang Theory (CBS, Mondays, 8/7c)

I know this show has a lot of haters out there and, true, if you’re looking for subtle, nuanced, witty humor, this is not the show for you. But it’s mindless fun for me and still manages to make me laugh even though I can see the jokes coming a mile away. I’m totally not embarrassed that I watch this show. Really. I swear. Okay, please don’t tell anyone I watch this show!

How to Get Away With Murder (ABC, Thursdays, 10/9c)

So I’m suuuuuuuuper late to the Shonda Rhimes party. Drew loves Grey’s Anatomy and the entire world loves Scandal, so I was determined to get in on the ground floor of her newest show, How to Get Away With Murder. And, I have to ask, is this what Shonda Rhimes’ other shows are like? Because if they are, I am going to have to mainline them, like, yesterday. Love it! Viola Davis is awesome (so the character is a bit House but with heels and as an attorney), I actually like the young law students (though if this was a 100-level class, should she really be hiring them at her law office?), I can tell we’re going to get a traditional case of the week but there is also a super fantastic overarching plot line that I’m anxious to see resolve over the course of the season. I’m hooked!

Black-Ish (ABC, Wednesdays, 9:30/8:30c)

I’m withholding judgement on this show until it can get a few episodes under its belt. It definitely felt like a pilot episode, trying to introduce its audience to everyone without really giving any of the characters much depth, but I feel like it has potential, so hopefully once it settles into its rhythm, it’ll get better.

2 thoughts on “New TV: Things I Watched Tonight (9/29)

  1. Yay Brooklyn 99! The premiere was pretty darn good. (I even got to watch it live because it comes in at Frankie’s house.)

    I might have to check out A-to-Z and How to Get Away With Murder. I tried Madame Secretary and my goodness, I don’t think they consulted with anyone who knows anything about how the government works.

    • Yeah, I’m interested to see where a lot of this season’s pilots end up – I liked a lot of them, but I’m not sure I can see how they’ll carry on over multiple seasons. I keep meaning to go and watch Scandal because I know people love it so much! And it’s not Shonda Rhimes-related, but I also keep meaning to watch The Good Wife. Have you ever seen that one?

Leave a Reply

