TV I Watched at Some Point Last Week…

Selfie (ABC, Tuesdays, 8/7c)

Love it! And I’m not just saying that because Karen Gillan and I are both members of the Tall Girl Club. It may have a stupid name and I’m really not sure how they’re going to stretch the whole My Fair Lady premise over multiple years, but Eliza is likable (despite being shallow and self-centered) and Henry is likable (despite being a bit of a fuddy-duddy) and they have really good chemistry. It doesn’t hurt that Karen Gillan is pretty on the eyes😉 Definitely the best pilot I’ve seen so far – it did a great job of introducing the premise and the characters without being boring or feeling like a set-up. Loved it!

SARAH HYLAND, ARIEL WINTER, ERIC STONESTREET, AUBREY ANDERSON-EMMONS, JESSE TYLER FERGUSON, JULIE BOWEN, TY BURRELL, SOFIA VERGARA, RICO RODRIGUEZ, NOLAN GOULD, ED O'NEILL

Modern Family (ABC, Wednesdays, 9/8c)

The yooje (How do you spell the shortened, obnoxious version of ‘usual’?), but still made me laugh. I wish it wouldn’t keep winning Emmys, but it’s still a really enjoyable show. I’m looking forward to where they go this season!

Flash (The CW, Tuesdays, 8/7c)

I’ve been missing Smallville lately – and I think I may have just found a replacement. They’re not in high school, but I think this’ll do. I don’t know a single thing about the Flash,so I can’t speak to how accurate this show is regarding his origin story (or anything else, really). The lead actor is no Tom Welling – the Flash is clearly from the Andrew Garfield school of superheroes – but he seems like he has a good mix of curiosity and courage and nobility that I think will work just fine. The pilot gives us the Flash’s origin story and sets up the show for the standard Monster of the Week-style episodes as well as a longer overarching plot line in potential villain or mentor Dr. Wells (played by Tom Cavanough who I really like) AND the unattainable, Lana-Lang-esque Iris. I think this’ll be a fun one! (This show exists in the same universe as the CW’s Green Arrow – anyone out there know if I need to watch that one, too? Is it any good?)

MV5BMTg0OTY3NDUwOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODAxNTA0MjE@._V1_SY317_CR12,0,214,317_AL_

Manhattan Love Story (ABC, Tuesdays, 8:30/7:30c)

I had read mixed reviews of this one so I hadn’t planned on checking it out, but then Ragen said she really enjoyed it so I gave it a watch! I haven’t quite made up my mind yet – it seemed cute enough, the characters likable enough, but the jury’s’ still out at the moment. I’ll keep you posted!

Bojack Horseman (Netflix)

It took me a while to get past the animal/human-hybrid characters on this show – they freaked me out something awful! But now that I’m used to it, I’m hooked. It’s full of people I adore – Will Arnett, Alison Brie, Amy Sedaris, Patton Oswalt, Aaron Paul…the list goes on! It’s funny AND it has a great theme song. Love. It.

Bad Judge (NBC, Thursdays, 9/8c)

I like Kate Walsh even though I never watched Grey’s Anatomy or Private Practice. At any rate, I’m glad to see her back on TV and I hope this one lasts because I really liked her character and her great supporting cast. I’m interested to see where this one goes!

Leave a Reply

