Let’s start at the very beginning…

So while I was in Colorado, I finally caved and drank the Kool-Aid that is Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache series, but the only one the bookshop had was How the Light Gets In which is, like, the ninth one in the series, I think? Well, I was finally able to start back at the beginning and get to know everyone in order!

Still Life by Louise Penny

I can’t speak much to the actual mystery that’s being solved here as it is an engrossing, but fairly standard mystery. The real stand-out in Louise Penny’s books (or at least the two I’ve read so far) is the large cast of characters and the village of Three Pines. While I was able to get to know everyone during How the Light Gets In it’s clear that this is more of an introductory version of everyone. And this one actually made me kind of like Clara Morrow who was my least favorite character from the ninth one. Inspector Gamache is smart but not infallible and his supporting cast are all individuals with their own personalities and back stories. I can’t wait to keep reading about Gamache and what else happens to Three Pines and its residents!

My rating: B+

2 thoughts on “Let’s start at the very beginning…

Leave a Reply

