Summer blockbuster tally, part 6

Well, I don’t know if my expectations were too high due to its awesome trailer or what, but I have to say that I was kind of disappointed by 9. I went in with hopes that it would be clever and complex and interesting a la a Pixar movie, but…it was not. Visually, it was really great – I mean, steampunk rag dolls, how can you go wrong?! But the plot and dialogue kind of stumbled into standard summer explosion movie territory. I’d be interested to see the short that it was based on to compare the films’ ideas and see if something got lost in translation during the stretching-out process…

I wouldn’t write it off completely – it really is worth seeing for the visuals, just don’t go in expecting anything more than eye candy.

Summer blockbuster tally: 4-2-10

Leave a comment